+88(0)101 0000 000


Over the centuries it has evolved into different varieties, to form a real family, with specialities for each region. Salami are distinguished from each other by the type of meat mincing (which can be fine, medium or coarse) and by the spices and ingredients (garlic, chilli, fennel seeds, wine) that contribute to giving each individual type a marked personality. The meat, fat and any other minced ingredients are made into sausages and left to age. And it is precisely towards the end of the ageing that each salami acquires its aroma. The shape is generally elongated, of variable size, while inside the slice is red with white/pink fat, with an intense and appetizing aroma and a well-defined flavour.

Among the best known salamis are Milano (very fine-grained), Felino PGI (medium-grained), Hungarian (fine-grained and slightly smoked), Napoli (fine-grained). Ten varieties have obtained the IGP recognition: Mortara goose salami, Cremona salami, Sant’Angelo salami, Ciauscolo, Salame Felino, Salama da Sugo, Piedmont salami, Finocchiona, Pitina, Lucanica di Picerno. On the other hand, seven have received the PDO Community mark: Salame Brianza, Salame Piacentino, Salame di Varzi, Soppressata di Calabria, Salsiccia di Calabria, Italian Salamini alla Cacciatora and Soprèssa Vicentina.


– Salame di Varzi PDO (1996)

– Salame Brianza PDO (1996)

– Salame Piacentino PDO (1996)

– Soppressata di Calabria PDO (1998)

– Salsiccia di Calabria PDO (1998)

– Salame Cacciatore PDO (2001)

– Soprèssa Vicentina PDO (2003)

– Salame d’oca di Mortara PGI (2004)

– Salame Cremona PGI (2007)

– Salame Sant’Angelo PGI (2008)

– Ciauscolo PGI (2009)

– Salame Felino PGI (2013)

– Salama da Sugo PGI (2014)

– Salame Piemonte PGI (2015)

– Finocchiona PGI (2015)

– Pitina PGI (2017)

– Lucanica di Picerno PGI (2018)

(in brackets the year of PDO / PGI recognition)